Can you still be an Earth Mother if you use Draino?
I love my clothes line, although it can only be used for about 5 months of the year. For some never to be discovered reason, the people that built this house 15 years ago decided to place the clothes line in the middle of the bush. (not far from the galvanized tank full of dope plants. Nuff said?) It’s very scenic and pretty and rural and all that, but not exactly positioned for optimal sunlight. At no stage in the year does it get all day sun, just different degrees of dappled- ness, but I suppose that a warm breeze is what you want for ideal drying conditions, and occasionally, even here near the mountain, a warm breeze arrives.
Yesterday, for example - 25C and beautiful. The boys (Captain SparkyPants and Bunty Baby) and I spent the day outside, lying in the sun (although not in direct sun. Sunburn and UV and the Ozone layer and all that). I kept saying to Captain S.P, ‘We are so lucky to live here. It’s so beautiful. Aren’t we lucky?’ which he eventually stopped listening to and/or answering, which was probably for the best….
Anyway, clothes line. Got very excited yesterday what with the hot day and the drying weather and being able to use it for the first time in months. As I said, it’s in the bush, near the chook pen and about 100 metres away from the house, uphill all the way of course. So there’s somewhat of a production involved in getting the basket (woven by African refugees thank you very much. I do try to be a bit of a hippy even if the chemicals I use for cleaning get in the way of the whole ethos a little. I live in a mud brick house, OK? Isn’t that enough? And I grow veggies and I recycle and I don’t let my kids kill bugs, unless BuntyBaby swallowing them counts….) and the boys over to the line, but hey if it’s a gorgeous day then that’s half the fun.
So this morning I hung out another load, which was a dumb idea as rain was forcast and now it’s wetter than it was when it came out of the machine, and I can’t go out and get it in because it’s pouring. Which is great for the tank and it means I can have a whole three minutes in the shower, and is great for all the grass seed that was sown on the weekend, but that’s about it.
So, to wrap up, my wonderful clothes line is great in theory, but the tumble dryer is going again, as usual.
By the way, I don’t really use Draino. It buggers up the septic system, which operates only with the grade of God anyway…

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home